Hindu festivals

                       The date of Hindu festivals were invariably fixed in accordance with the position of various heavenly bodies at the time of events which led to them.
Hindus consider that there are four lengthy Yuga, or 'Ages' of time, namely.
1st:  Krita or Satya, the 'Golden Age' or that of 'Truth' which extends for a period of 17,28,000 years and is in four parts.
2nd:  The Treta yuga, which lasts for 12,96,000 years. It has three(Treta) parts and is known as the 'Silver Age'.
3rd:  The third one is Dwapara(two parts), extending for 8,64,000 years.
4th:  The Kali yuga or present 'Evil Age', which has a period of 4,32,000 years(one part).
                  According to Bentley, who worked them out an astronomical data, those Ages commenced on the 19th April 2352, 28th October 1528, 15th September 1901 and 8th February 540 B.C., respectively.The names of the months were taken from the nakshatras, or 'asterisms', in which the moon was supposed to be full at different times of the year. In some parts of India, the Hindu calendar commeneces with the month Vaisakh, but in Northern India, it begins with Chait.
The Hindu divides the year into six seasons, each of two months, namely ---
Vasanta(Spring), Greeshma(Summer), Varsha(Rainy), Savad(Sultry), Hemanta(Cold) and Sisira(Dewy).
Lunar days are called Tithi, but the Solar days of the week are called Vara or Var and are named after the following planets, by adding the affix Var like "day".

English Hindi
Sun Aditya, Surya or Ravi
Moon Soma
Mars Mangala
Mercury Budha
Jupiter Brihaspati
Venus Sukra
Saturn Sani

Each day of the week has a sacrified significance ---
Aditya means the 'Great God',Surya and Ravi mean the Sun.Monday is specially sacred to Siva and is observed by some as a fast.Saturday is Hanuman's day; it is regarded as unlucky, for Sani is believed to be a malignant god who requires propitiation.Thursday is the great day for worshipping ancestors.
The months and Chief festivals